List Of Qualified Impairments

by ryan on March 1, 2017


List Of Qualified Impairments


Listing of Impairments

Applying for disability means filing a claim with the Social Security Administration (SSA) stating that you have an impairment that prevents you from being able to work.

Your case will be decided by an administrative law judge who will look at the facts of the case, comparing your medical cause against a listing provided by the SSA, and he make a determination on your impairment according to law. To be eligible, you must first meet requirements involving your work history and payments into the social security system. People who have worked an insufficient amount of time have generally paid in less to the system and might be ineligible.

However, these people might be eligible under certain rules. Each case is decided on an individual basis, and the government pays for an examination. When the judge reviews the medical records, he will compare your disability against a listing of impairments. Some of these impairments are easy to prove, but proving others can be difficult.

A list of recognized impairments is available from the SSA and should be reviewed by anyone who is applying for disability benefits. A quick look at the list will show that it is divided into fourteen categories. The categories include the musculoskeletal system, special senses and speech, the respiratory system, the cardiovascular system, the digestive system, the genitourinary system, hematological disorders, skin disorders, the endocrine system, impairments that affect multiple body systems, neurological, mental disorders, malignant neoplastic diseases, and immune system disorders. These are the fourteen impairment categories that the federal government uses for classifying all disabling impairments.

The Social Security Administration maintains the listing on their website. Taking a closer look at the listing by looking inside one of these categories, such as immune system disorders, we find an enumerated list of the related diseases that can affect the human body and cause impairment, as well as a facts and questions (FAQ) section for answering questions that readers might have. An explanation for the listing is provided so that the reader understands how the information is organized.

For instance the immune system disorders listing discloses that it contains three categories of immune system disorders: autoimmune, immune deficiency, and HIV (HIV is not included in immune deficiency, but instead has it’s own category). The impairments that are included within the list are supposed to be both specific and broad enough to encompass all human ailments.



Related Post


Previous post:

Next post: